Stay Connected

Follow ERS on Twitter
Subscribe to RSS feeds
Subscribe to ERS e-Newsletters.aspx
Listen to ERS podcasts
Read ERS blogs at USDA
Archive Banner


The People's Republic of China has 31 provinces, municipalities, and autonomous regions.

Provinces: Anhui, Fujian, Gansu, Guangdong, Guizhou, Hainan, Hebei, Heilongjiang, Henan, Hubei, Hunan, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, Jilin, Liaoning, Qinghai, Shaanxi, Shandong, Shanxi, Sichuan, Yunnan, and Zhejiang.

Four major cities and their surrounding areas: Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai and Chongqing are administratively directly under the central government.

Five autonomous regions are the equivalent of provinces: Guangxi, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia, Tibet, and Xinjiang.

Hainan became a separate province in 1988. It was previously part of Guangdong Province. Chongqing became a separate municipality in 1997. It was previously part of Sichuan.

Hong Kong and Macao are special administrative regions that are not included in statistics of the People's Republic of China.

China Provinces


Source: Economic Research Service.

Last updated: Thursday, July 05, 2012

For more information contact: Fred Gale